history


historyDesigned in the Chateauesque style by the esteemed architectural firm of Andrews, Jacques & Rantoul, the Hooper Mansion was one of the largest Buildings in the Back Bay when it was constructed in 1889. The mansion was commissioned as the private residence of Robert C. Hooper and his wife, Helen Angier (Ames) Hooper.

Robert C. Hooper was a prominent member of Boston society and served as treasurer and later president of the Constitution Wharf Company.  A noted dog lover, he imported an English bull/bull terrier mix from England that he named Judge. “Hooper’s Judge”, as the dog came to be known, is credited as the originator of the Boston Terrier breed.

Located at 448 Beacon Street, The Hooper Mansion provides unobstructed views of the Charles River Basin and Boston skyline.  With 3 exposures, roof decks, balconies, and over 70 windows throughout, this unique building provides an extraordinary sense of openness and light that cannot be rivaled by the area’s more typical brownstones.